Knowledgebase: Tips and tricks
Restore with Backup2Go after replacing the workstation
Posted by Sven Koester, Last modified by Andre Kuehnemund on 13 December 2019 17:26
After exchanging a broken or stolen workstation that has been saved with Backup2Go, data shall be restored to the new workstation. |
Sometime, the new workstation has been used with Backup2Go, too. In PresSTORE Backup2Go the workstations are identified by their host ID, so
PresSTORE will differenciate between the two laptops and will not restore the data from the old laptop to the new one.
The following procedure describes how to achieve that:
In case the new workstation has already been configured with Backup2Go, that configuration must be cleared to get a clean workstation, just as if it was newly installed. Please continue with step two in case a new workstation is used.
sudo rm resources.*
The new workstation must be assigned to the existing record of the old workstation in PresSTORE.
There must be a record for the OLD workstation. Pick that record and update the host ID to the value of the NEW workstation.