Knowledgebase:
Backup repository and backup volumes
Posted by Marijan Kozic on 28 May 2019 14:39
Backup repository organisation
Archiware Pure Backup repository consists of one or more Backup Volumes. Each Backup Volume is a mount point with an existing file system. Any file system supported by the host OS is acceptable so you have great freedom in choosing the best option for your hardware and software configuration.

One of the Backup volumes is configured as the Primary backup disk and all newly discovered VMs will be assigned to this Backup volume. Note that once a VM is assigned to a Backup volume, its backup data will always be stored there. Assigning a different Backup volume as a Primary backup disk will have effect only on the VMs discovered and added to Archiware Pure from that moment onwards.

Each Backup volume can independently configured with a different Parallelism setting, determining the maximum number of backup and verification jobs that can be executed in parallel using this Backup volume.


Increasing backup storage
One obvious method of increasing storage would be to externally increase the capacity of the mount point corresponding to a given Backup volume.

Another option is to add more Backup volumes in App Configuration -> Repository page in Pure GUI.

Because of the way the VMs are permanently assigned to a Backup volume, simply adding more volumes may not immediately resolve low storage situation. For this, some of the VMs should be reassigned or migrated to newly added Backup volume.

VM migration feature is planned for future Archiware Pure releases. Until such time, there is a known workaround to manually move the existing VMs.
WARNING: While this will have the desired effect of re-assigning the VM to a different volume, in reality you are deleting a VM and creating it again. You will lose all existing backups for that VM, as well as any backup scheduling and tagging information. But if your current volume is getting full and you must make some space or if the VMs you want to move have no existing backups yet, this workaround could work for you.

Please execute the following steps:
1. add a new Backup volume
2. mark it as the Primary backup disk
3. delete (remove from Pure repository) those VMs that you wish to have assigned to the new Backup volume
4. on next VM list refresh, Pure will re-discover those VMs in vSphere inventory and will add them to Pure inventory again. Except that now they will be assigned to the new Backup volume
5. restart Pure to delete the old backup data from the old Backup volume
(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
CAPTCHA Verification 
 
Please enter the text you see in the image into the textbox below (we use this to prevent automated submissions).